Automated Term Paper Grading

Idea Works: Using Automated Grading for Collaborative Learning | Education News.

I can see value in this concept, but I’m also very leery of turning over my decision-making authority on grades to an automated system.  I simply don’t know how trying to quantify the nuances of writing would work.  Or if it even should work!

I can totally see this as beneficial for a fundamentals of writing course where compositional mechanics are what is being assessed.  My technophilia only goes so far, however.  When the machines start making decisions for me [Are you listening, iPhone4S?] then I start to get the Skynet jitters.

Leave a comment

Filed under Educational Technology, School Leadership

Leave a Reply

